With the 2014 Oscars just around the corner I wanted to share with you my thoughts on who I feel should win. Now these are not who I think the Academy will pick but who I feel deserves the Oscar.


American Hustle
Charles Roven, Richard Suckle, Megan Ellison, and Jonathan Gordon, Producers
Captain Phillips
Scott Rudin, Dana Brunetti and Michael De Luca, Producers
Dallas Buyers Club
Robbie Brenner and Rachel Winter, Producers
Alfonso Cuarón and David Heyman, Producers
Megan Ellison, Spike Jonze and Vincent Landay, Producers
<atitle=”Nebraska Movie Review” href=”http://wittywhittier.com/nebraska/”>Nebraska
Albert Berger and Ron Yerxa, Producers
Gabrielle Tana, Steve Coogan and Tracey Seaward, Producers
Award goes to12 Years a Slave
Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen and Anthony Katagas, Producers

The Wolf of Wall Street
Martin Scorsese, Leonardo DiCaprio, Joey McFarland and Emma Tillinger Koskoff, Producers

ACTOR – in a Leading Role

Christian Bale – American Hustle
Bruce Dern – Nebraska
Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street
Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave
Award goes toMatthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club

ACTRESS in a Leading Role

Amy Adams – American Hustle
Award goes toCate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine
Sandra Bullock – Gravity
Judi Dench – Philomena
Meryl Streep – August: Osage County

ACTOR in A Supporting Role

Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips
Bradley Cooper – American Hustle
Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave
Jonah Hill – The Wolf of Wall Street
Award goes toJared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club

ACTRESS in a Supporting Role

Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine
Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle
Award goes toLupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
Julia Roberts – August: Osage County
June Squibb – Nebraska


American Hustle – David O. Russell
Award goes toGravity – Alfonso Cuarón
Nebraska – Alexander Payne
12 Years a Slave – Steve McQueen
The Wolf of Wall Street – Martin Scorsese